Sailing soon? Get Santorini and every other port of your cruise timed to your all-aboard.Cruise Pass, €14.99 once
What the fees pay for
Which? put it simply in April 2026: ships are charged every time they dock, and the cost is passed on to passengers. The charges cover government fees, pilotage, docking and mooring, and baggage handling.
Which? gave two real examples of how that adds up: £286 in taxes and fees on a 7-night Royal Caribbean cruise in the Caribbean, and £237 on a Mediterranean cruise with Princess.
So this is not small money. But it is usually not a surprise either. Which? says taxes and fees are included in the headline cost, and you see a breakdown before you pay.
The surprise is the second kind of charge.
The two kinds of charge
In the fare. Port dues, passenger taxes and most city levies. You pay them when you book, or they are built into the price. You never see them on board.
Added afterwards. The line pays the authority for you, then bills your onboard account. MSC does this for Greece, Iceland and Japan. Which? calls these sustainability taxes and says they are generally charged only if you get off, and typically refunded or not charged if you stay on board. Iceland is the exception to that rule, as you will see below.
There is a third, rarer kind: you pay it yourself. Venice is the main one.
The same fee can move between these groups depending on the line. MSC bills the Greek fee after the call. AIDA has only just started passing it on: it applies to new bookings from 1 August 2026, and people who booked earlier are not charged. So read your own line's page, not a general list.
What the main ones cost (2026)
All of these come from our cruise port rules tracker, which has 36 fees, caps and bans with their sources. Amounts are per person.
| Where | Amount (2026) | How it is charged |
|---|---|---|
| Santorini, Mykonos | €20 Jun–Sep, €12 Apr–May and Oct, €4 Nov–Mar, per call | Usually the onboard account |
| Other Greek ports | €5, €3 or €1 in the same seasons, per call | Usually the onboard account |
| Iceland (Reykjavik and others) | ISK 1,600 (about €11) per 24 hours | Onboard account, even if you stay on board |
| Japan | ¥3,000 per departure | Onboard account |
| Cozumel and all Mexico | US$10, once per itinerary | Part of the fare |
| Nassau, Freeport | US$30 (US$32 from a private island only) | Taxes and fees |
| Bermuda | US$20–25 per 24 hours, capped at US$60–75, April to October; Dockyard adds a US$25 transport tax | Taxes and fees |
| Juneau | US$13 per visit | Not stated in the source |
| Boston | US$3 | Not stated in the source |
| Amsterdam | €15 per day | Through the cruise line |
| Barcelona | City surcharge plus €6 regional, under 12 hours in port | Through the cruise line |
| Lisbon, Funchal | €2 | Charged to the cruise operator |
| Venice centre | €5 or €10 on set days | You pay on the city's site |
Three of these will change soon.
Mexico goes to US$15 on 1 July 2027 and US$21 on 1 August 2028. The charge has already doubled once, in August 2026.
Boston's fee was announced to rise by US$3 a year, to US$15 by 2030. That schedule comes from a February 2025 report, so check it nearer the time.
Barcelona is moving, but not yet settled. Sources differ on the city's part today: Catalan News says €5, Cruise Industry News implies about €8. On 25 September 2026 Catalan News reported that the council had given initial approval to raising it to €24, rolled out over four years through 2030. It is not final. If you sail in 2027, check your line's fee list before you go.
Norway has proposed letting towns charge NOK 100 per passenger per 24 hours from 1 January 2027. No fee applied in 2026. The law is in place, but the charge is still a proposal.
What a week in Greece really costs
This is where the fee is worth planning for, because it depends on the season and the port. Take a cruise calling at Santorini, Mykonos, Rhodes and Katakolon, at the rates MSC publishes:
- July: €20 + €20 + €5 + €5 = €50 per person
- April: €12 + €12 + €3 + €3 = €30 per person
- November: €4 + €4 + €1 + €1 = €10 per person
For two people in July, that is €100 on your bill at the end. It is charged per port, not per day. MSC says the fee applies to everyone who goes ashore, regardless of age, so a child costs the same as you.
It is not a reason to skip Santorini. But it belongs in your budget next to the cable car and the transport. If you have seen an island before and want a quiet day on board, MSC will not charge you for staying. Check first if you sail with another line.
How much does a cruise ship pay to dock?
There is no single number. I could not find a public figure that covers the whole bill for a call, because it is many charges added together: the port's own dues, a pilot, tugs, mooring and baggage handling.
What is public is the per-passenger part, and it shows how wide the range is. The Port of Hamina-Kotka in Finland lists €1.00 per passenger in its 2026 port dues. Boston charges US$3. Juneau charges US$13. Santorini takes €20 in summer. Bermuda can reach US$75.
Multiply by the people on board and you see why the lines list it separately. Three thousand passengers at US$13 is US$39,000 for one call in Juneau, from that one fee alone.
The money is often spent on the town, not the port. Proposals for Juneau's fees in 2027 include police, fire and emergency services, street maintenance, bus service and public toilets. Boston's are meant to fund most of a US$105 million project at Flynn Cruiseport.
Venice: the fee you pay yourself
Venice is the odd one out. In 2026 the access fee ran on 60 set days from 3 April to 26 July, for day visitors aged 14 and over entering the historic centre between 08:30 and 16:00. It cost €5 if booked at least four days ahead, and €10 after that. You pay on the city's portal and carry a QR code. Passengers only passing through the Stazione Marittima terminal do not pay.
MSC says its own excursions include the fee. If you go alone, you need the code yourself. The 2027 dates have not been published.
How to avoid a surprise
- Before you book, look at the taxes and fees line in the price breakdown, not only the fare. Compare the total.
- List your ports, then look each one up in the rules tracker. Greece, Iceland, Japan and Venice are the ones to look for.
- Read your line's page on local charges. Who bills what differs from line to line, and so does the rule on staying on board.
- Check your onboard account the day after a Greek call. It should match the table. If it does not, ask at Guest Services before the last night.
- Keep the budget honest. Add these to your port day costs along with excursions and transport. On the July example above, a family of four pays €200 in fees before anyone buys a coffee.
FAQ
Are port fees included in the cruise fare?
Usually yes. Which? says taxes and fees are included in the headline cost. The exceptions are charges a line adds later to your onboard account, such as MSC's for Greece, Iceland and Japan.
Do I pay the Greek cruise fee if I stay on the ship?
On MSC and AIDA, no. Guests who stay on board are not charged. Check with your own line.
Do I pay the Iceland fee if I stay on the ship?
Yes. MSC says it applies even if you do not go ashore, because it is charged for each 24 hours in Icelandic waters.
Do I get port fees back if a port is cancelled?
Which? says taxes and fees are refunded if a port is skipped. How and when depends on your line, so check your booking terms.
Do children pay port fees?
It depends on the fee. MSC applies the Greek one regardless of age. Amsterdam's starts at age 2, and Japan's exempts under-2s. Venice's starts at 14.
Sources
- Which?: The hidden cost of your next cruise (7 April 2026)
- MSC Cruises: Destinations fees and local charges (2026)
- Cruise Industry News: AIDA Cruises to pass Greek taxes to guests (August 2026)
- Cruise Hive: Mexico's cruise passenger tax schedule (August 2026)
- Catalan News: Barcelona to increase tourist tax for cruise passengers in transit (September 2026)
- Cruise Industry News: Barcelona approves 24 euro tax for cruise passengers (July 2026)
- Port of Hamina-Kotka: Port dues on passengers (2026)
- Juneau Empire: Marine passenger fees for 2027 (April 2026)
- Cruise Radio: Boston implementing new cruise fee from 2026 (February 2025)
- PortTrip cruise port rules tracker: every other amount here, with its source (checked October 2026)
Santorini is one day. Time the whole cruise.
-
Ships do not wait.
In March 2024, eight Norwegian Dawn passengers on a private tour came back to the pier in São Tomé more than an hour after all-aboard. Getting back on board took six days, seven countries and over $5,000. The details
-
The ship charges for the easy part.
Carnival sells a coach to Rome for US$129.99 a person. The train is from €9.20 return. PortTrip tells you which train, and the last one that gets you back. The details
-
On the day, it watches the clock.
Google Maps travel time from where you stand back to the pier, with alerts at 30, 15 and 0 minutes. The details
Cruise Pass
€14.99 once
Up to 10 ports of one sailing, timed to your all-aboard in port time and ship time. Live mode and alerts on the day. An offline copy for when the signal drops.
Get the Cruise PassPay once, nothing renews. 30-day full refund.
Or plan Santorini free first